Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
New Treadwell Build
Well, I'm getting the funds and materials together to start my first R5-D4 but first I thought I'd build something a little easier just to get my feet wet. I haven't worked on any major projects like this in a few years... probably the last was a set of Doctor Octopus arms for Halloween around 10 years ago. (pics available upon request)
I have been thinking about trying a lifesize Imperial Probe Droid, but having no instructions or diagrams handy, nor barely anything resembling a real workshop, that will be much further down the line.

So I decided to start with the WED-15's head. Got the eyes constructed and as it was a perfect day (sunny and breezy) for painting, I started painting them up today.

I'm sort of doing a cross between Paul's treadwell:

http://www.rebeldroids.net/forum/showthread.php?tid=52

and Bloody Plastic's Treadwell:

http://www.bloody-plastic.com/props/treadwell.html

The base for mine will be foamcore, the neck (or body?) will be PVC pipe and the head is balsa wood.

Mine won't be functional (not at first, anyway) but if it turns out okay I might try to automate it in the future.
100% death proof

[Image: qBQpDd.jpg]
Balsa wood head/eyes:

[Image: DFNzJp.jpg]

[Image: SQeMyj.jpg]

[Image: 61MTvD.jpg]
Primed with black paint. This serves two functions, priming the outside for the outer layer of paint plus blackening the interior.

I rather like Paul's having actual "eyes" inside, plus it helps to flesh out the interior of the head. I have a couple of old flashlight assemblies I will use for the eyes once the paint job is finished on the head. I'm still working out the best material to use for the eye lenses. Right now I might just use plastic carved from a couple of CD cases unless I can find a slightly darker but translucent material. Maybe a cheap pair of sunglasses? Have to stop by the local drug store and see if they have anything that might work in that regard.